Getting Kids to Declutter

Do you kids have too many toys? WAY WAY WAY too many toys? Well, I have a wonderful way to help your (slightly older) children want to let go of some of their things.

Have a yard sale…and tell them they may keep the proceeds of their toy sales!

My boys 11 and 8 are upstairs right now. As some of you know, we are getting ready to move full time to an RV, so I gave them each one box that they may fill with toys they want to keep, everything else has to go (aside from their legos, knex, and playmobils, which dont “count” for their box).

They are doing great deciding what is important to them, and what isnt. When I first married their dad, they brought, what must have been 3 large boxes of stuffed animals…we are now down to just a couple each. Its amazing!

Another tip I have when decluttering needs to be done, but you dont want to do a yard sale, is to say, “Ok, we are going through all of these cars etc, you may pick one to keep, and one to give away.” I have told them that the toys will go to children who may not otherwise have toys, and that seems to help them.

Check out Rocks in My Dryer for other Works for me Wednesday tips!

About lisser

My name is Alyssa. I live with my husband and 2 young boys on our farm in Coeur d' Alene, Idaho. I have been in the planning to launch a small scale farm from our acreage for the last 2 years. Much to my excitement 2010 brings the start of my dream to fruition. We are starting small, but will continue to grow as a valuable local food source in our community. We are an unschooling, attachment parenting family, with a love for the outdoors, and a passion for sustainable farming. I am a stay (and now work) at home mom. I enjoy reading, sewing, cooking/baking, canning and photography.
This entry was posted in Organizing, RV Living. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Getting Kids to Declutter

  1. Marlo says:

    This is an excellent idea- I’d thought of the yard sale, but not the extra incentive of keeping their own $. 🙂

  2. Thats a great tip! thanks so much!

Leave a Reply

