CHICKS HAVE ARRIVED!!!

Yesterday morning we finally got THE CALL. Every morning since Wednesday, the kids have been popping out of bed early, and rushing down to ask. DID THEY CALL? Are they HERE?!

Well, finally, IT WAS THE DAY. I had originally planned on running to town myself, but no such luck, as I had 4 little boys looking at me, about ready to explode with excitement. So, at 6:30am we all loaded up and headed to town to get our chicks.

They arrived safe and sound, with only one loss. They were quite chipper, and eagerly ate and drank as I put them into their pen. I dipped each of their beaks first in water (that I added Quik Chik to), and then in food.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

After a couple of hours, I let the boys hold them. They were SOOOOOOOO thrilled!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

And later that afternoon, even my husband couldnt resist their cuteness!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Not only that, but he had the older boys catch them a couple of small grasshoppers. You should have seen them. The chicks were HISTERICAL! They were running around, chasing each other, vying for a turn. Wore their little selves out. They also have been eating the clover that is in their pen.

They are SO darling. All told we have 53. I’m guessing 9 or 10 different breeds, but its hard to tell them apart at so young an age. I ordered a variety package, so its a surprise as to what breeds I will actually have. I will have “Rainbow Layers” and “Brown Egg Layers.”

About lisser

My name is Alyssa. I live with my husband and 2 young boys on our farm in Coeur d' Alene, Idaho. I have been in the planning to launch a small scale farm from our acreage for the last 2 years. Much to my excitement 2010 brings the start of my dream to fruition. We are starting small, but will continue to grow as a valuable local food source in our community. We are an unschooling, attachment parenting family, with a love for the outdoors, and a passion for sustainable farming. I am a stay (and now work) at home mom. I enjoy reading, sewing, cooking/baking, canning and photography.
This entry was posted in Chickens, Photos. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

