Chicks – Day 3

We lost 3 chicks. Two over night on Saturday, and one last night. Not sure why, it just happens sometimes.

Yesterday morning I woke up to pouring rain. I went out (at 5:30am!), to check on the chicks, since I wasnt really sure how well the shelter would protect against the rain. It was not so great, and they were in a bit of a low spot. Several of them were fairly damp. I reworked their shelter. I put an upside mud catching mat on the bottom of their pen, so it lifted them above the wetness, moved their light in a bit, and pulled the tarp all the way over the pen. They were warm and cozy in no time!

About lisser

My name is Alyssa. I live with my husband and 2 young boys on our farm in Coeur d' Alene, Idaho. I have been in the planning to launch a small scale farm from our acreage for the last 2 years. Much to my excitement 2010 brings the start of my dream to fruition. We are starting small, but will continue to grow as a valuable local food source in our community. We are an unschooling, attachment parenting family, with a love for the outdoors, and a passion for sustainable farming. I am a stay (and now work) at home mom. I enjoy reading, sewing, cooking/baking, canning and photography.
This entry was posted in Chickens, Self Sufficient Living. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

