He wrote the whole alphabet!

Brecken (5y9m) is on the verge of reading. His interest in letters and words has just exploded over the past year and a half or so. This is the son, who, when three years old could barely sit still long enough for a quick reading of But Not the Hippopotamus by Sandra Boynton, much less anything by Dr. Seuss.

His most recent accomplishment was writing the whole alphabet. He found a word game book, and decided that one of the crosswords was where he would write the alphabet. He wrote down all the letters he knew (through E), then he went to the fridge, picked the correct magnet letter, and wrote it in the corresponding box. It probably took him a good 30 minutes. Towards the end, he needed help on a couple of the letters that have gotten lost from our magnet set.

Every so often I get tempted to break out How to Teach Your Child to Read in 100 Easy Lessons. This is how many of my siblings learned to read, and its a really great book. I’m just completely fascinated with the process. I have no doubt he’d zoom through the book, and probably love it. But he’s only 5. There is no reason I can not sit back, and follow the organic process as he learns to read of his own desire and inclination.

Here are the letters that Brecken wrote:

About lisser

My name is Alyssa. I live with my husband and 2 young boys on our farm in Coeur d' Alene, Idaho. I have been in the planning to launch a small scale farm from our acreage for the last 2 years. Much to my excitement 2010 brings the start of my dream to fruition. We are starting small, but will continue to grow as a valuable local food source in our community. We are an unschooling, attachment parenting family, with a love for the outdoors, and a passion for sustainable farming. I am a stay (and now work) at home mom. I enjoy reading, sewing, cooking/baking, canning and photography.
This entry was posted in Unschooling. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

