Urban Homesteading – Its a lifestyle, not a trademark.

There has been a recent uprising of homesteaders around the world this past week. The Dervaes family has put a trademark on the words “Urban Homestead” and “Urban Homesteading”. If this is the first you have heard of this, a quick Google search will spell out the details for you.

Homesteading, urban or otherwise, is not a lifestyle you can trademark. My grandmother grew delicious food during the 10 years she lived in Halawa Valley in Moloka’i Hawaii during the late ’70s and early ’80s. My parents raised us on a small farm, where we had goats for milk, chickens for meat and eggs, steers for beef, and pigs for all the yummy goodness they provide. We had a MASSIVE garden as well as several fruit trees. And today, as a mother myself, we are gradually working towards our own food sustainability.

Recently, my town was able to overturn the new ordinance they were trying to make against backyard chickens and other livestock. I have the good fortune of being part of a community that will allow limited livestock in a neighborhood, provided it doesnt disturb the neighbors.

I am not an urban homesteader, but I am a homesteader none-the-less.  What is your story or connection to urban homesteading? Today is Urban Homesteaders Day of Action. Post on your blog, facebook, twitter. Spread the word!

Urban homesteading – Its a lifestyle, not a trademark.

About lisser

My name is Alyssa. I live with my husband and 2 young boys on our farm in Coeur d' Alene, Idaho. I have been in the planning to launch a small scale farm from our acreage for the last 2 years. Much to my excitement 2010 brings the start of my dream to fruition. We are starting small, but will continue to grow as a valuable local food source in our community. We are an unschooling, attachment parenting family, with a love for the outdoors, and a passion for sustainable farming. I am a stay (and now work) at home mom. I enjoy reading, sewing, cooking/baking, canning and photography.
This entry was posted in Daily Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Urban Homesteading – Its a lifestyle, not a trademark.

  1. Pingback: Urban and Rural Survival | The Method to our Madness

  2. Hi Alyssa! I’m glad to read your posting on the topic. My sentiments are you with this one. How can you copyright a lifestyle? Only with government.
    I’m pleased to see you are aware and implement Unschooling. Excellent!
    I look forward to reading your future thoughtful postings.

    My Best,
    James

Leave a Reply

